Louisiana Department of Education (LDOE) Early Childhood Care and Education Commission (ECCEC) Tuesday, January 29, 2019 Minutes – Unofficial

The January 29, 2019 meeting of the Early Childhood Care and Education Commission was called to order at 12:20 P.M. Members present were: Jessica Baghian, Maria Blanco, Melanie Bronfin, Toni Buxton, Laurie Carlton, Dr. Susannah Craig, First Lady Donna Edwards, Dionne Frost, Melissa Goudeau, Sherry Guarisco, Rep. Stephanie Hilferty, Buddy Leach, Dr. Keith Leger, Sen. Beth Mizell, Anthony V. Ligi, Jr., Dr. Keith Perrin, Paula Polito, Abigail Iron Rope, Monique Rouege, Cindy Rushing, Ms. Monique Scott-Spaulding, Ms. Brenda Sharp, Judy Thompson, Michael Tipton, Kahree Wahid, and Alan Young.

Representing the Louisiana Department of Education was Jessica Baghian.

Public comments were received from John Warner Smith.

The meeting was called to order by Rep. Stephanie Hilferty at 12:20 p.m.

Rep. Hilferty requested a motion to approve the minutes of the December 13, 2018 meeting of the Early Childhood Care and Education Commission (ECCEC).

1 On motion of Mr. Tipton, and seconded by Sen. Mizell, the ECCEC approved the minutes of the December 13, 2018 meeting of the Early Childhood Care and Education Commission (ECCEC).

Jessica Baghian provided an update report on the Early Childhood Care and Education Commission recommendations and draft report.

2 On motion of Mr. Young, and seconded by Mr. Tipton, the ECCEC endorsed the ECCEC Workgroup recommendations and draft report.

3 With no further business to come before the ECCEC, the January 29, 2019 meeting of the ECCEC was adjourned at 2:07 P.M.